Skip to content

Weight loss · surgery cost

Gastric balloon cost without insurance

A temporary balloon placed in the stomach to help a person feel full, later removed.

General information, not medical advice. Last reviewed: pending clinical review.

Programs that take patients without insurance publish one “self-pay package” price for the procedure. What is inside that price differs from program to program, so every price here is shown with what its page says it covers and leaves out.

Not enough prices for a typical range yet

We give a typical range once 4 local programs have a standing published price. For now: 7 published self-pay prices from 4 programs, from $4,000 to $7,500 — the span of what those pages print, not a typical cost.

Checked against their sources

Published gastric balloon prices

7 self-pay package prices from 4 programs, A to Z, each as its own page printed it — the newest seen October 11, 2026. Every price is for the procedure as a package, once.

  • Everself (Bariendo Inc.)$7,495Chain · sells nationally

    Chain · sells nationally

    $7,495

    Includes: 12 months of weight care (dietitian, support groups, on-call, smart scale, blood test, IV therapy)

    Does not include: Prescriptions; removal not explicitly mentioned

    everself.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    everself.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • IBI Healthcare Institute$6,999–$7,499Practice · Atlanta, GAwith a condition

    Practice · Atlanta, GA

    $6,999Orberawith a condition

    Conditions: Limited-time special (struck-through price $7,900)

    Includes: Labelled all-inclusive 6-month balloon program

    ibiclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $7,499Spatzwith a condition

    Conditions: Limited-time special (struck-through price $9,000)

    Includes: Labelled all-inclusive; landing page says initial consultation, pre-procedure nutritional support, all fees and 24/7 staff access

    Does not include: Extra nutritional coaching sold separately

    ibiclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    ibiclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • JourneyLite$4,000–$7,500Practice · Cincinnati, OHwith a condition

    Practice · Cincinnati, OH

    $4,000Allurionwith a condition

    Conditions: Limited-time price; regular price $5,000

    journeylite.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $7,500Orbera

    journeylite.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $6,500Spatzwith a condition

    Conditions: Limited-time price; regular price $7,500

    Does not include: Balloon adjustment listed separately at $750

    journeylite.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    journeylite.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Nicholson Clinicfrom $7,000Practice · Plano, TX'As low as'

    Practice · Plano, TX

    from $7,000Orbera

    Conditions: 'As low as'

    Includes: Initial consultation and monthly follow-up visits for 12 months after insertion; surgical fee covering placement and removal; day-surgery-center fee; anesthesiologist fee for removal; one dietitian visit

    Does not include: Post-operative blood work and prescriptions

    nicholsonclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    nicholsonclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

What’s included

What a self-pay package includes

Counted across the 7 published prices above: how many pages say each item is in the price, how many say it is not, and how many do not say. Where pages speak of them, they all include: first consultation.

Of 7 published package prices, how many say each item is included, not included, included in part, or do not say.
WhatWhat the package prices say
Surgeon fee
  • 1 included
  • 6 not stated
Anesthesia
  • 1 included
  • 6 not stated
Hospital or surgery center
  • 7 not stated
Overnight stay
  • 7 not stated
Pre-operative tests and evaluations
  • 7 not stated
First consultation
  • 2 included
  • 5 not stated
Follow-up visits after surgery
  • 1 included
  • 6 not stated
Pathology
  • 7 not stated
Cover for complications
  • 7 not stated
Assistant surgeon
  • 7 not stated

Also done through the mouth

Endoscopic sleeve: published prices

A procedure done through the mouth that stitches the stomach from the inside into a narrower shape. General information, not medical advice. Last reviewed: pending clinical review.

  • Everself (Bariendo Inc.)$12,995Chain · sells nationallyOne listed price for all locations

    Chain · sells nationally

    $12,995

    Conditions: One listed price for all locations

    Includes: 12 months of weight care: dietitian consultations, support groups, 24/7 clinical on-call, smart scale, comprehensive blood test, post-procedure IV therapy

    Does not include: Prescriptions; facility and anesthesia are not itemised on the page

    everself.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    everself.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • IBI Healthcare Institute$9,499Practice · Atlanta, GAwith a condition

    Practice · Atlanta, GA

    $9,499with a condition

    Conditions: Limited-time special (struck-through price $12,000); consultation and deposit to lock in

    Includes: Labelled all-inclusive; six months of post-procedure follow-up

    ibiclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    ibiclinic.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

What the federal sources say about balloons

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases says FDA has approved several temporary weight-loss devices, including gastric balloon systems that are removed after six months to a year, and that their long-term risks and benefits are not known. (NIDDK: weight-loss (metabolic and bariatric) surgery, last reviewed September 2020.) Whether a procedure is right for a person is a decision for that person and a clinician.
  • The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases says FDA has approved several temporary weight-loss devices, including gastric balloon systems that are removed after six months to a year, and that their long-term risks and benefits are not known.Source: NIDDK: weight-loss (metabolic and bariatric) surgery (opens in a new tab), last reviewed September 2020. Checked October 11, 2026.

Which balloon systems are FDA-approved today we could not confirm from an FDA page; a program can say which system it places.

Will insurance or Medicare cover it?

A self-pay package is what a program charges when insurance does not pay. Medicare’s national coverage determination lists the gastric balloon for treatment of obesity among the procedures it does not cover. (CMS National Coverage Determination 100.1, bariatric surgery, version 5, effective 09/24/2013.)

Questions people ask about gastric balloon cost

3 questions, each answered from the prices on this page.
How much is gastric balloon without insurance?
The 7 published self-pay prices we have checked, from 4 programs, run from $4,000 to $7,500. That is the span of what these pages print, not a typical cost: we give a typical range only once four local programs have a standing price. Every published price
What does a self-pay gastric balloon package include?
Among the packages that say, the ones on this page most often state that these are included: first consultation. Anything a page does not mention is counted as not stated, never as included. Item by item
Is the first consultation part of the package price?
Not always. 3 programs publish a separate self-pay consultation fee, from $195 to $281.45. Consultation fees

Not medical advice. This page is about what things cost. Prices change: the newest here was seen on its source page on October 11, 2026.

What that means, and how we check prices

Not medical advice

This page is about what things cost. It does not say what anyone should take or have done; that is a decision for you and a licensed clinician. Statements from labels and agencies are quoted from the sources linked beside them and have not been clinically reviewed.

Prices change

Every price here is a published price as it was seen on its source page — the newest on October 11, 2026. Sellers change prices and end offers; the seller’s page is the authority.

How we check prices

Each price is read from the seller’s own page and checked against its source before it appears, with the unit it is quoted in and the conditions printed beside it. Published prices are re-checked monthly. How we estimate · How this site works