Skip to content

Weight loss · medicine cost

Zepbound cost without insurance

Zepbound is a prescription tirzepatide injection taken once a week.

General information, not medical advice. Last reviewed: pending clinical review.

Eli Lilly sells the Zepbound vial or KwikPen to people paying for it themselves through LillyDirect, Lilly’s self-pay pharmacy program. The price depends on the dose, and the dose rises on the schedule on the label — so the first month’s price is not the price of the months after it. Every figure on this page is a published price with its source beside it.

Eli Lilly’s self-pay price

Published price

$299 – $449a month, by dose · vial or KwikPen

$299 at 2.5 mg to $449 at 15 mg. From 7.5 mg, $449 holds only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; otherwise the price is $499 to $699. Seen October 11, 2026 on lilly.com (opens in a new tab).

By dose

Zepbound price at each dose

Eli Lilly’s self-pay price for a month of the vial or KwikPen, dose by dose. The first price column is the lowest one Eli Lilly publishes for the dose and says what it depends on; the regular price is what the same month costs otherwise.

Eli Lilly’s self-pay price for a month of Zepbound at each dose, with the source page and the day each price was seen.
DosePrice (a month)
2.5 mgstarting dose$299lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
5 mg$399lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
7.5 mg$449refilled within 45 daysRegular price: $499lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
10 mg$449refilled within 45 daysRegular price: $699lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
12.5 mg$449refilled within 45 daysRegular price: $699lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
15 mg$449refilled within 45 daysRegular price: $699lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Zepbound 2.5 mg price

    $299 a month from Eli Lilly.

  • Zepbound 5 mg price

    $399 a month from Eli Lilly.

  • Zepbound 7.5 mg price

    $449 a month from Eli Lilly, only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; $499 otherwise.

  • Zepbound 10 mg price

    $449 a month from Eli Lilly, only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; $699 otherwise.

  • Zepbound 12.5 mg price

    $449 a month from Eli Lilly, only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; $699 otherwise.

  • Zepbound 15 mg price

    $449 a month from Eli Lilly, only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; $699 otherwise.

The conditions printed with these prices

What each price depends on, by form and dose, as Eli Lilly states it.
  • Vial, 2.5 mg: Self-pay only; month = 28 days / 4 vials; 2.5 mg is the starting dose
  • Vial, 5 mg: Self-pay only; month = 28 days / 4 vials; no refill-timing condition
  • Vial, lower price, 7.5 mg to 15 mg: Self-pay only; price applies to the first fill and to refills bought within 45 days of the previous delivery (Zepbound Journey Program); otherwise the regular price applies
  • Vial, regular price, 7.5 mg to 15 mg: Applies when the refill is bought more than 45 days after the previous delivery
  • KwikPen, 2.5 mg and 5 mg: Regular one-month price, with no savings offer applied.
  • KwikPen, lower price, 7.5 mg: Self-pay savings card; at most 11 fills per calendar year; card expires 12/31/2026; $449 on the first fill and on refills bought within 45 days of the previous delivery, otherwise the regular $499
  • KwikPen, regular price, 7.5 mg to 15 mg: Regular one-month price, with no savings offer applied.
  • KwikPen, lower price, 10 mg to 15 mg: Self-pay savings card; at most 11 fills per calendar year; card expires 12/31/2026; $449 on the first fill and on refills bought within 45 days of the previous delivery, otherwise the regular $699

Why the dose matters to the price

The dose rises on the schedule on the label, and the price is set by the dose. The label’s schedule is inside, cited.

What happens to the cost when the dose goes up

The year, not the month

What a first year of Zepbound costs

13 fills of 28 days, priced from Eli Lilly’s list along the dose schedule on the label: $5,087 to $5,637, depending on the dose the schedule levels off at. Arithmetic on a price list, not a prediction or a recommendation of any dose: a prescriber sets the schedule, and a slower one changes the sum.

  • Rising to 5 mg and staying there: $5,087

    1 × $299 + 12 × $399 = $5,087

  • Rising to 10 mg or 15 mg and staying there: $5,637 (or $8,187 at the regular prices)

    1 × $299 + 1 × $399 + 11 × $449 = $5,637

    At the regular prices: 1 × $299 + 1 × $399 + 1 × $499 + 10 × $699 = $8,187

Each sum, dose by dose

To 5 mg

At Eli Lilly’s prices

At Eli Lilly’s prices: each line is a number of fills at one dose and one published price, and the last line is their sum.
DoseFills × priceSubtotal
2.5 mg1 × $299$299
5 mg12 × $399$4,788
13 fills in all$5,087

To 10 mg

With every lower price Eli Lilly prints

With every lower price Eli Lilly prints: each line is a number of fills at one dose and one published price, and the last line is their sum.
DoseFills × priceSubtotal
2.5 mg1 × $299$299
5 mg1 × $399$399
7.5 mg1 × $449refilled within 45 days$449
10 mg10 × $449refilled within 45 days$4,490
13 fills in all$5,637
Each lower price holds only under the condition printed beside it in the table above.

At the regular prices

At the regular prices: each line is a number of fills at one dose and one published price, and the last line is their sum.
DoseFills × priceSubtotal
2.5 mg1 × $299$299
5 mg1 × $399$399
7.5 mg1 × $499$499
10 mg10 × $699$6,990
13 fills in all$8,187
What the same fills cost with no introductory price and no condition met.

To 15 mg

With every lower price Eli Lilly prints

With every lower price Eli Lilly prints: each line is a number of fills at one dose and one published price, and the last line is their sum.
DoseFills × priceSubtotal
2.5 mg1 × $299$299
5 mg1 × $399$399
7.5 mg1 × $449refilled within 45 days$449
10 mg1 × $449refilled within 45 days$449
12.5 mg1 × $449refilled within 45 days$449
15 mg8 × $449refilled within 45 days$3,592
13 fills in all$5,637
Each lower price holds only under the condition printed beside it in the table above.

At the regular prices

At the regular prices: each line is a number of fills at one dose and one published price, and the last line is their sum.
DoseFills × priceSubtotal
2.5 mg1 × $299$299
5 mg1 × $399$399
7.5 mg1 × $499$499
10 mg1 × $699$699
12.5 mg1 × $699$699
15 mg8 × $699$5,592
13 fills in all$8,187
What the same fills cost with no introductory price and no condition met.

Thirteen fills of 28 days cover 364 days.

Zepbound cost calculator

Change the dose the schedule stops at, add a program’s fee, and see the first and second year. It runs in your browser; nothing you choose is sent or saved.

The doses the label names, on the label’s schedule. Which one, and how fast, is a prescriber’s decision — this only adds up what each would cost.

Prices

Worked out in your browser. Nothing you choose or type here is sent or saved.

First year of Zepbound to 15 mg

$5,637

Medicine: 1 × $299 + 1 × $399 + 11 × $449 = $5,637.

Second year, staying at 15 mg
$5,837
Two years
$11,474

At the regular prices the first year’s medicine would be $8,187.

Month by month, with your own prices

Other sellers

Zepbound at other sellers

Published Zepbound prices from programs, pharmacies and price sites, A to Z, as each seller’s own page printed them. Open a row for its conditions and what it covers. A program’s own fee is separate unless the row says otherwise.

  • Foundfrom $299 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyLowest dose

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    from $299 a month

    Conditions: Lowest dose; paid separately at the pharmacy

    Includes: The medication at the manufacturer price

    Does not include: Found membership ($149 self-pay or $89 with insurance)

    joinfound.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    joinfound.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • FuturHealthfrom $395 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyPen · first fill

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    from $395 a monthPenfirst fill

    28-day supply: one KwikPen holding four weekly doses

    Conditions: Introductory month only; the ongoing price is not on the page

    fh.co (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    fh.co (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • GoodRxfrom $299 a monthDiscount marketplace · sells nationallyWithout insurance, with a GoodRx coupon

    Discount marketplace · sells nationally

    from $299 a month

    Conditions: Without insurance, with a GoodRx coupon

    Includes: The medication at a participating retail pharmacy (CVS, Costco, Walgreens, Walmart and others are listed)

    Does not include: Prescription and visit; price is without insurance

    goodrx.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    goodrx.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Lemonaid Health$299–$449 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyVial · $299 for 2.5 mg, $449 for higher doses

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    $299–$449 a monthVial

    28-day supply: four single-dose vials

    Conditions: $299 for 2.5 mg, $449 for higher doses; cash only; charged and managed by LillyDirect

    Includes: The medication

    Does not include: The $49 monthly membership

    lemonaidhealth.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    lemonaidhealth.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • LifeMDfrom $299 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyVial · Lowest dose

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    from $299 a monthVial

    28-day supply: four single-dose vials

    Conditions: Lowest dose

    Includes: The medication

    Does not include: The monthly program fee

    lifemd.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    lifemd.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Measured$299–$449 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyBy dose

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    $299–$449 a month

    Conditions: By dose

    Includes: The medication

    Does not include: Membership

    trymeasured.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    trymeasured.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Mochi Healthfrom $299 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyLowest dose

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    from $299 a month

    Conditions: Lowest dose

    Includes: The medication

    Does not include: Mochi Health membership

    joinmochi.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    joinmochi.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Ro$299–$399 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyPen · members

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    • $299 at 2.5 mg
    • $399 at 5 mg

    Each a month · Penmembers

    28-day supply: one KwikPen holding four weekly doses

    Conditions: Cash pay; membership required

    Includes: The medication at the manufacturer cash price

    Does not include: Ro Body membership fee (separate charge); insurance not applied to this price

    ro.co (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    ro.co (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Show all 11 sellers
  • Sesame (Success by Sesame)from $1,086 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallySingle-dose pen · Cash price without insurance

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    from $1,086 a monthSingle-dose pen

    28-day supply: four single-dose pens

    Conditions: Cash price without insurance

    Includes: The medication

    Does not include: Success by Sesame subscription fee (separate)

    sesamecare.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    sesamecare.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • TrumpRx.govfrom $299 a monthGovernment price portal · sells nationallyVial · Lowest dose

    Government price portal · sells nationally

    from $299 a monthVial

    28-day supply: four single-dose vials

    Conditions: Lowest dose; the order is completed on LillyDirect, not on TrumpRx

    Includes: The medication only (order handed to LillyDirect)

    Does not include: Prescription and visit; insurance cannot be used; the site itself sells nothing

    trumprx.gov (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    trumprx.gov (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • WeightWatchers (WW Clinic / Med+)$299–$399 a monthTelehealth program · sells nationallyPen · Cash pay

    Telehealth program · sells nationally

    • $299 at 2.5 mg
    • $399 at 5 mg

    Each a month · Pen

    28-day supply: one KwikPen holding four weekly doses

    Conditions: Cash pay

    Includes: Medication dispensed and paid for through LillyDirect (28-day supply)

    Does not include: Med+ membership fee (separate)

    weightwatchers.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    weightwatchers.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

Zepbound by form: what each one costs

The vial or KwikPen share one price list. The single-dose pen: from $499 a month, under its own conditions.

from $499 a monthSingle-dose penwith a condition

28-day supply: four single-dose pens

Conditions: Only for people with commercial insurance that does not cover the single-dose pen; month = 28 days / 4 pens; not a pure cash price

Includes: Four single-dose autoinjector pens

Does not include: Prescriber visit; anyone on a government plan is excluded

zepbound.lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

from $499 a monthSingle-dose penwith a condition

28-day supply: four single-dose pens

Conditions: Only for people with commercial insurance that does not cover the single-dose pen; month = 28 days / 4 pens; not a pure cash price

Includes: Four single-dose autoinjector pens

Does not include: Prescriber visit; anyone on a government plan is excluded

zepbound.lilly.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • The label lists Zepbound in 2.5, 5, 7.5, 10, 12.5 and 15 mg as single-dose pens, single-dose vials, a multi-dose vial with four doses, and a KwikPen with four weekly doses. It says a vial is used with a syringe and needle that are not supplied with it.Source: FDA-approved label for Zepbound (DailyMed) (opens in a new tab), label revised 8/2026. Checked October 11, 2026.

What the Zepbound self-pay price covers

Includes: Four single-dose vials (a 28-day supply); free home delivery or free pickup at a retail pharmacy. Does not include: Needles and syringes (bought separately); the prescriber visit; taxes and fees; cannot be run through insurance or government programs.

What Eli Lilly’s page says its self-pay price includes and leaves out, in the seller’s words above and counted here across the 23 prices on this page. “Not stated” is never read as included.

Of 23 published prices, how many say each item is included, not included, included in part, or do not say.
WhatWhat the prices say
The medicine itself
  • 23 included
Prescriber or clinician visits
  • 23 not included
Program or membership fee
  • 23 not stated
Lab work
  • 23 not stated
Needles and injection supplies
  • 22 not included
  • 1 not stated
Shipping or delivery
  • 10 included
  • 13 not stated
Coaching or dietitian support
  • 23 not stated

What a program adds on top

$19.99 to $299 a month for the program itself, across the 10 programs whose month-to-month fee we have checked: $239.88 to $3,588 over twelve months (12 × the fee), before the medicine.

Will insurance or Medicare cover it?

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases says some, but not all, insurance plans cover medicines for overweight and obesity. (NIDDK: prescription medications to treat overweight and obesity, last reviewed June 2024.) More from Medicare.gov, CMS and the IRS inside, each linked and dated.
  • The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases says some, but not all, insurance plans cover medicines for overweight and obesity.Source: NIDDK: prescription medications to treat overweight and obesity (opens in a new tab), last reviewed June 2024. Checked October 11, 2026.
  • Medicare.gov says that, starting July 1, 2026, Medicare covers Foundayo, Wegovy and the Zepbound KwikPen — not single-dose Zepbound vials or pens — under a temporary program, the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, for eligible people with Medicare drug coverage (Part D), for a $50 monthly copayment.Source: Medicare.gov: weight loss drugs (opens in a new tab), no page date. Checked October 11, 2026.
  • Medicare.gov lists who is eligible by body mass index and health conditions when therapy starts, and says people who have type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea or fatty liver disease are not eligible for the Bridge, though their Part D plan might cover the medicine.Source: Medicare.gov: weight loss drugs (opens in a new tab), no page date. Checked October 11, 2026.
  • CMS describes the Bridge as a short-term demonstration running from July 1, 2026 to December 31, 2027.Source: CMS: the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (opens in a new tab), page last modified 07/13/2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
  • CMS says type 2 diabetes, moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea, and MASH with moderate to advanced liver fibrosis are uses eligible for Part D coverage, received through the person’s Part D plan rather than the Bridge.Source: CMS: Medicare GLP-1 Bridge, information for Part D plans (opens in a new tab), page last modified 08/06/2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
  • CMS says Medicare and Medicaid generally do not cover GLP-1 drugs for weight loss, and that Medicaid coverage under its voluntary BALANCE model depends on participation by states and drug manufacturers.Source: CMS: the BALANCE model (opens in a new tab), page last modified 09/29/2026. Checked October 11, 2026.

What we could not confirm

Which state Medicaid programs cover these medicines for weight loss: no official page we could read names them. Check with your state’s Medicaid agency, and for Medicare with Medicare.gov (opens in a new tab).

HSA and FSA

IRS Publication 502 says weight-loss costs can be included as medical expenses only when the weight loss is a treatment for a disease diagnosed by a physician, such as obesity, and that prescribed medicines can be included.Source: IRS Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses (opens in a new tab), Publication 502 (2025), for 2025 returns. Checked October 11, 2026.

How long will I pay?

For as long as the medicine is taken. What the label is for, and what it reports about stopping, are inside, cited.
  • Zepbound’s label is for use with a reduced-calorie diet and increased physical activity: to reduce excess body weight and maintain the reduction in adults with obesity, or with overweight and a weight-related condition; and for moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity.Source: FDA-approved label for Zepbound (DailyMed) (opens in a new tab), label revised 8/2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
  • The label reports a study (section 14.1, Study 4) in which 783 patients took Zepbound for 36 weeks and 670 were then randomized to continue it or to switch to placebo for 52 weeks. From week 36 to week 88, body weight changed by +14.0% on placebo and −5.5% on Zepbound.Source: FDA-approved label for Zepbound (DailyMed) (opens in a new tab), label revised 8/2026. Checked October 11, 2026.

Questions people ask about Zepbound cost

5 questions, each answered from the prices on this page.
How much is Zepbound without insurance?
Eli Lilly sells the Zepbound vial or KwikPen to self-pay patients for $299 to $449 a month, depending on the dose: $299 at 2.5 mg and $449 at 15 mg. From 7.5 mg, $449 holds only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; otherwise the price is $499 to $699. Those are the manufacturer’s published prices as seen on October 11, 2026; a prescriber’s visit is separate. Every dose
Does the price of Zepbound go up with the dose?
Yes. Eli Lilly’s price is $299 at 2.5 mg, $399 at 5 mg, $449 at 7.5 mg to 15 mg. From 7.5 mg, $449 holds only when each refill is bought within 45 days of the last; otherwise the price is $499 to $699. The price at each dose
Is the Zepbound vial priced differently from the single-dose pen?
The vial or KwikPen is $299 to $449 a month; the single-dose pen is from $499 a month, and only under its own conditions. Each is the manufacturer’s own published price. Each form
What does a year of Zepbound cost?
At Eli Lilly’s prices, along the dose schedule on the label up to 15 mg, 13 fills come to $5,637 (1 × $299 + 1 × $399 + 11 × $449 = $5,637), or $8,187 at the regular prices. That is arithmetic on the price list, not a prediction: a prescriber sets the schedule. The sum, line by line
What does a telehealth program add to the cost of Zepbound?
The 10 programs whose month-to-month fee we have checked charge $19.99 to $299 a month for the program itself. Where a program sells a brand medicine, that fee is on top of the medicine’s price. Program by program

Not medical advice. This page is about what things cost. Prices change: the newest here was seen on its source page on October 11, 2026.

What that means, and how we check prices

Not medical advice

This page is about what things cost. It does not say what anyone should take or have done; that is a decision for you and a licensed clinician. Statements from labels and agencies are quoted from the sources linked beside them and have not been clinically reviewed.

Prices change

Every price here is a published price as it was seen on its source page — the newest on October 11, 2026. Sellers change prices and end offers; the seller’s page is the authority.

How we check prices

Each price is read from the seller’s own page and checked against its source before it appears, with the unit it is quoted in and the conditions printed beside it. Published prices are re-checked monthly. How we estimate · How this site works