Eye surgery · cost per eye
ICL (implantable lens) cost per eye
Surgery that places a thin lens inside the eye, in front of the natural lens, to correct nearsightedness.
General information, not medical advice. Last reviewed: pending clinical review.
Centers publish this price as a fixed figure, a range, or a “starting at” price that holds only for some eyes. This page keeps the three apart, each with its unit.
Typical price
Estimate$3,900 – $4,900per eye, from fixed published prices
Estimate from 9 centers’ fixed published prices in 8 states, each restated at the national price level. Ranges, “starting at” figures, prices with a condition and national chains are left out of it and shown below. Not a quote. How we estimate
Checked against their sources
Fixed ICL prices, center by center
18 fixed prices from 12 centers, A to Z, the newest seen October 11, 2026. Each line gives its unit and the technology level its page names. A both-eyes price is shown as printed, with half of it beside it, and is never counted as a per-eye price.
- alohalaservision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Aloha Laser VisionHonolulu, HI$4,495 per eye · EVO ICL$4,495 per eye · EVO ICL (toric)Standard price, $8,990 for both eyes
Honolulu, HI
$4,495 per eyeEVO ICL
Conditions: Standard price, $8,990 for both eyes; $3,995 per eye with the current $500-per-eye special; 'does not include tax'. The toric lens is the same price.
alohalaservision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$4,495 per eyeEVO ICL (toric)
Conditions: Standard price, $8,990 for both eyes; $3,995 per eye with the current $500-per-eye special; 'does not include tax'.
alohalaservision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - brimhalleyecenter.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Brimhall EyeLas Vegas, NV$8,000 for both eyes · EVO ICL (÷ 2 = $4,000 an eye)Priced for both eyes
Las Vegas, NV
$8,000 for both eyesEVO ICL
Conditions: Priced for both eyes; a per-eye figure is not printed. Toric versus non-toric not distinguished.
Includes: The EVO ICL lenses and surgery, no-cost touch-ups, and post-surgery enhancements and care for a full year; free initial consultation.
brimhalleyecenter.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
California Center for Refractive Surgery (CCRS)Los Angeles, CA$3,000 per eye · EVO ICL (prescription below -6.0 D)$3,500 per eye · EVO ICL (prescription -6.0 to -10.0 D)$4,000 per eye · EVO ICL (prescription above -10.0 D)Three tiers by prescription: $3,000 below -6.0 D, $3,500 from -6.0 to -10.0 D, $4,000 above -10.0 D
Los Angeles, CA
$3,000 per eyeEVO ICL (prescription below -6.0 D)
Conditions: Three tiers by prescription: $3,000 below -6.0 D, $3,500 from -6.0 to -10.0 D, $4,000 above -10.0 D; add $500 per eye for astigmatism. A one-time $250 fee for ICL-specific tests. $6,000 – $9,000 for both eyes.
Does not include: One-time $250 ICL-specific tests; +$500 for astigmatism (toric lens).
ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$3,500 per eyeEVO ICL (prescription -6.0 to -10.0 D)
Conditions: Middle of three prescription tiers; add $500 per eye for astigmatism. A one-time $250 fee for ICL-specific tests.
Does not include: One-time $250 ICL-specific tests; +$500 for astigmatism.
ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$4,000 per eyeEVO ICL (prescription above -10.0 D)
Conditions: Top of three prescription tiers; add $500 per eye for astigmatism. A one-time $250 fee for ICL-specific tests.
Does not include: One-time $250 ICL-specific tests; +$500 for astigmatism.
ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - envueeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Envue Eye & Laser CenterOxon Hill, MD$4,500 per eye · EVO ICLOne-time-payment price
Oxon Hill, MD
$4,500 per eyeEVO ICL
Conditions: One-time-payment price.
envueeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - eyenm.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Eye Associates of New MexicoAlbuquerque, NM$4,750 per eye · EVO ICLStandard price
Albuquerque, NM
$4,750 per eyeEVO ICL
Conditions: Standard price; 10% 'Local Heroes' discount ($4,275 per eye) for military, firefighters, police, teachers and medical workers. Toric versus non-toric not distinguished.
Includes: Free consultation.
eyenm.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Show all 12 centers
- feinermanvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Feinerman VisionNewport Beach, CA$9,450 for both eyes · EVO ICL (with or without astigmatism correction) (÷ 2 = $4,725 an eye)Same fee with or without the toric (astigmatism) lens
Newport Beach, CA
$9,450 for both eyesEVO ICL (with or without astigmatism correction)
Conditions: Same fee with or without the toric (astigmatism) lens.
Includes: Candidacy evaluation and imaging, the custom lenses, surgeon fee, surgery centre and anaesthesia, and all routine post-operative visits.
feinermanvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - floridaeyecustomvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Florida Eye Custom VisionSt. Johns, FL$4,975 per eye · EVO ICLPrinted with a tilde ('~$4,975'), so approximate
St. Johns, FL
$4,975 per eyeEVO ICL
Conditions: Printed with a tilde ('~$4,975'), so approximate; 'Prices current as of 2026'. Toric versus non-toric not distinguished.
Includes: Comprehensive eye examination and diagnostics, imaging, the surgical procedure with the custom lens, 12 months of follow-up visits, and one enhancement within the first year if medically appropriate.
Does not include: Enhancement after 12 months; prescription eye drops (approx. $50–$100).
floridaeyecustomvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - intermountaineyecenters.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Intermountain Eye CentersBoise, ID$3,650 per eye · EVO ICL (for myopia, non-toric)$4,100 per eye · EVO ICL (toric, for astigmatism)For myopia without astigmatism correction
Boise, ID
$3,650 per eyeEVO ICL (for myopia, non-toric)
Conditions: For myopia without astigmatism correction; $7,300 for both eyes. The toric lens is $4,100 per eye.
intermountaineyecenters.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$4,100 per eyeEVO ICL (toric, for astigmatism)
Conditions: Toric lens to treat astigmatism; $8,200 for both eyes.
intermountaineyecenters.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - kinglasik.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
King LASIKSeattle, WA$4,000 per eye · EVO ICL with a conditionPrice after $500-per-eye savings
Seattle, WA
$4,000 per eyeEVO ICLwith a condition
Conditions: Price after $500-per-eye savings; lens selection finalised after diagnostic testing. Homepage pop-up advertises 'save $1,500 through October 31st' on EVO ICL.
Includes: Free consultation; comprehensive evaluation; the custom implantable lens; surgical care and post-operative follow-up visits.
kinglasik.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
SharpeVision Modern LASIK & LensAustin, TX$3,395 per eye · EVO ICL (prescription under -8)$4,395 per eye · EVO ICL (prescription -8 and higher)Two tiers by prescription: under -8 is the low tier
Austin, TX
$3,395 per eyeEVO ICL (prescription under -8)
Conditions: Two tiers by prescription: under -8 is the low tier. Toric versus non-toric not distinguished.
Includes: Free initial consultation, comprehensive exam, the custom EVO ICL lens, and all enhancements and surgical follow-up care needed for one year (90 days of follow-up if insurance is billed).
Does not include: Lifetime enhancement plan (LASIK4Life) is $200 per eye extra.
sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$4,395 per eyeEVO ICL (prescription -8 and higher)
Conditions: Two tiers by prescription: -8 and higher is the high tier. Toric versus non-toric not distinguished.
Includes: Free initial consultation, comprehensive exam, the custom EVO ICL lens, and all enhancements and surgical follow-up care needed for one year (90 days of follow-up if insurance is billed).
Does not include: Lifetime enhancement plan (LASIK4Life) is $200 per eye extra.
sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - uclahealth.org (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
UCLA Health Laser Refractive CenterLos Angeles, CA$6,663 per eye · Standard, non-toric$7,013 per eye · Toric, for astigmatismFaculty-surgeon price
Los Angeles, CA
$6,663 per eyeStandard, non-toric
Conditions: Faculty-surgeon price. $1,000 non-refundable deposit at the pre-operative exam, credited to the surgery. Page says medical insurance coverage is mandatory for ICL patients. No trainee discount listed for ICL.
Includes: One full year of follow-up care and one enhancement if needed; free screening consultation; page says prices are final with no technology upcharges (LASIK flap made with a femtosecond laser).
uclahealth.org (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$7,013 per eyeToric, for astigmatism
Conditions: Faculty-surgeon price. $1,000 non-refundable deposit at the pre-operative exam, credited to the surgery. Page says medical insurance coverage is mandatory for ICL patients. No trainee discount listed for ICL.
Includes: One full year of follow-up care and one enhancement if needed; free screening consultation; page says prices are final with no technology upcharges (LASIK flap made with a femtosecond laser).
uclahealth.org (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - utahvalleyeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Utah Valley Eye CenterProvo, UT$3,900 per eye · EVO ICLPage says no extra charge for astigmatism or higher prescriptions
Provo, UT
$3,900 per eyeEVO ICL
Conditions: Page says no extra charge for astigmatism or higher prescriptions.
Includes: Full surgical evaluation and diagnostic testing, the EVO ICL lenses, all surgical and facility fees, eye drops and post-operative medications, and all follow-up appointments and care.
utahvalleyeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Not fixed prices
“Starting at” prices and ranges
4 prices that are a floor or a span, each beside what its page says decides the figure. None of them is in the typical price above.
| Center | Published as | What its page says decides the price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alliance Vision InstituteFort Worth, TX | $3,500–$4,900per eye · EVO ICLFinal cost set at the free consultation from prescription, anatomy and technology used. Wider range reflects the prescription spectrum.allianceeyes.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 | Final cost set at the free consultation from prescription, anatomy and technology used. Wider range reflects the prescription spectrum. | allianceeyes.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 |
| Kraff Eye InstituteChicago, IL | $4,000–$6,000per eye · EVO ICLRange, "sometimes more"; customized quote required.kraffeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 | Range, "sometimes more"; customized quote required. | kraffeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 |
| LASIK ExpertsLawrenceville, NJ | $4,000–$5,500per eye · EVO ICLIts page states no condition beside the figure.lasikexperts.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 | Its page states no condition beside the figure. | lasikexperts.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 |
| Nevada Eye ConsultantsReno, NV | $3,500–$4,000per eye · EVO ICLOffered as an alternative when LASIK is not suitable; what moves the price within the range is not stated.nevadaeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 | Offered as an alternative when LASIK is not suitable; what moves the price within the range is not stated. | nevadaeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 |
What’s included
What the price includes
Counted across the 22 published prices on this page. “Not stated” is never read as included.
| What | What the prices say |
|---|---|
| Pre-operative exam and measurements |
Separate exam fees published: $100 to $500, at 6 centers. |
| Follow-up visits after surgery |
Stated periods: 3 months (1), 1 year (5). 5 state none. |
| Enhancement (re-treatment) |
Stated periods: 1 year (4). 3 state none. |
| Eye drops and medications |
|
| Consultation |
|
Does the technology level change the price?
At the 4 centers here that print a fixed per-eye price at more than one level, the highest level is $350 to $1,000 more per eye than the lowest.
Each center’s own names for its levels, and its own price at each. One center’s “standard” is not another’s, so levels are compared only inside a center.
Aloha Laser Vision
Honolulu, HI
Aloha Laser Vision: its fixed price per eye at each level its page names. Level, as the page names it Price per eye EVO ICL $4,495 EVO ICL (toric) $4,495 Per eye. Highest less lowest: $0.
alohalaservision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026California Center for Refractive Surgery (CCRS)
Los Angeles, CA
California Center for Refractive Surgery (CCRS): its fixed price per eye at each level its page names. Level, as the page names it Price per eye EVO ICL (prescription below -6.0 D) $3,000 EVO ICL (prescription -6.0 to -10.0 D) $3,500 EVO ICL (prescription above -10.0 D) $4,000 Per eye. Highest less lowest: $1,000.
ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026Intermountain Eye Centers
Boise, ID
Intermountain Eye Centers: its fixed price per eye at each level its page names. Level, as the page names it Price per eye EVO ICL (for myopia, non-toric) $3,650 EVO ICL (toric, for astigmatism) $4,100 Per eye. Highest less lowest: $450.
intermountaineyecenters.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026SharpeVision Modern LASIK & Lens
Austin, TX
SharpeVision Modern LASIK & Lens: its fixed price per eye at each level its page names. Level, as the page names it Price per eye EVO ICL (prescription under -8) $3,395 EVO ICL (prescription -8 and higher) $4,395 Per eye. Highest less lowest: $1,000.
sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026UCLA Health Laser Refractive Center
Los Angeles, CA
UCLA Health Laser Refractive Center: its fixed price per eye at each level its page names. Level, as the page names it Price per eye Standard, non-toric $6,663 Toric, for astigmatism $7,013 Per eye. Highest less lowest: $350.
uclahealth.org (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Is the exam charged separately?
6 centers publish a separate exam fee: $100 to $500. Of the 22 prices on this page, 11 say the exam is in the price and 0 say it is charged apart.
- cumberlandeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Cumberland EyeCrossville, TN$100 per visitCharged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price
Crossville, TN
$100 per visit
Conditions: Charged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price; whether it is per patient or per eye is not stated.
Includes: All testing and post-operative care.
cumberlandeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
LasikATL (Diamond Vision)Hapeville, GA$250 per visitCharged at the pre-operative measurement visit and credited toward the procedure cost if the patient proceeds
Hapeville, GA
$250 per visit
Conditions: Charged at the pre-operative measurement visit and credited toward the procedure cost if the patient proceeds; the initial consultation is free.
Includes: Pre-operative measurements.
lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - sweyeinstitute.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Southwest Eye InstituteLas Vegas, NV$200 per visitApplied as a credit toward the procedure if the patient goes ahead
Las Vegas, NV
$200 per visit
Conditions: Applied as a credit toward the procedure if the patient goes ahead; if a medical diagnosis is present the visit may be billed to insurance.
Includes: The LASIK or vision correction consultation.
sweyeinstitute.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - stmichaelseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
St. Michael's Eye & Laser InstituteLargo, FL$500 per visitCharged after the free consultation and before surgery
Largo, FL
$500 per visit
Conditions: Charged after the free consultation and before surgery; refunded if the workup shows the patient is not a candidate.
Includes: Detailed testing that confirms candidacy and plans the treatment.
stmichaelseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - ecot.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
The Eye Clinic of TexasLeague City, TX$250 per visitCharged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price
League City, TX
$250 per visit
Conditions: Charged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price; collected on the day of the exam.
Includes: The pre-op exam and measurements.
ecot.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - waitevision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Waite VisionLehi, UT$150 per visitPaid consultation
Lehi, UT
$150 per visit
Conditions: Paid consultation; the fee goes toward the vision-correction procedure.
Includes: A two-hour comprehensive exam.
waitevision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Enhancement and follow-up policies: how long, and at what fee
3 of the 22 prices here say an enhancement is included, 4 in part or on a condition, and 0 say it costs extra. Stated periods: 1 year (4). Plans sold separately: $200 to $1,000.
Follow-up visits, among the 11 prices that include them: 3 months (1), 1 year (5). 5 state no period. Enhancements, among the 7 that include one in full or in part: 1 year (4). 3 state no period.
Enhancement plans sold separately
A plan that pays for later enhancements, bought beside the procedure. Each as its page prints it.
- diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
Diamond VisionNew York, NY$550 once · 5 years$750 once · 7 years$1,000 once · LifetimeOptional add-on
New York, NY
$550 once5 years
Conditions: Optional add-on; must be purchased before or within one week of surgery.
Includes: Post-operative warranty covering enhancements for the stated term (terms not detailed on the page).
diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$750 once7 years
Conditions: Optional add-on; must be purchased before or within one week of surgery.
Includes: Post-operative warranty covering enhancements for the stated term (terms not detailed on the page).
diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$1,000 onceLifetime
Conditions: Optional add-on; must be purchased before or within one week of surgery.
Includes: Post-operative warranty covering enhancements for the stated term (terms not detailed on the page).
diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
LasikATL (Diamond Vision)Hapeville, GA$550 once · 5 years$750 once · 7 years$1,000 once · LifetimeOptional
Hapeville, GA
$550 once5 years
Conditions: Optional; must be bought before or within one week of surgery. Page says the plans carry no conditions, restrictions or eligibility criteria. Per eye or per patient not stated.
Includes: Enhancement cover for five years after surgery (the page's warranty statement gives the terms).
lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$750 once7 years
Conditions: Optional; must be bought before or within one week of surgery. Per eye or per patient not stated.
Includes: Enhancement cover for seven years after surgery.
lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026$1,000 onceLifetime
Conditions: Optional; must be bought before or within one week of surgery. Per eye or per patient not stated.
Includes: Enhancement cover for life.
lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
SharpeVision Modern LASIK & LensAustin, TX$200 once · Lifetime · charged for each eyeOptional add-on to LASIK, PRK or EVO ICL
Austin, TX
$200 onceLifetime
Charged for each eye
Conditions: Optional add-on to LASIK, PRK or EVO ICL; $400 for both eyes. Already included with RLE.
Includes: The full cost of any laser enhancement from one year after surgery for life (the first year is in the procedure price); page says there are no restrictions or requirements.
sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026 - westtexaseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
West Texas Eye AssociatesLubbock, TX$275 once · Lifetime · charged for each eyeOptional
Lubbock, TX
$275 onceLifetime
Charged for each eye
Conditions: Optional; one-time enrollment fee, $550 for both eyes; must be bought before the original LASIK or PRK procedure; eligibility requirements apply (including remaining in good eye health).
Includes: Coverage for eligible prescription changes related to the original LASIK or PRK procedure.
Does not include: Medications, glasses or contacts.
westtexaseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
- FDA says to expect a first visit with the doctor within 24 to 48 hours after surgery, and visits at regular intervals after that for at least the first six months.Source: FDA: LASIK — what should I expect before, during and after surgery? (opens in a new tab), content current as of 07/11/2018. Checked October 11, 2026.
- FDA says to wait until eye measurements are consistent at two visits at least three months apart before a re-operation.Source: FDA: LASIK — what should I expect before, during and after surgery? (opens in a new tab), content current as of 07/11/2018. Checked October 11, 2026.
- FDA says no laser company has given it enough evidence to draw conclusions about the safety or effectiveness of enhancement surgery.Source: FDA: LASIK — what should I expect before, during and after surgery? (opens in a new tab), content current as of 07/11/2018. Checked October 11, 2026.
Does insurance cover ICL?
The Refractive Surgery Council, an industry group, says health plans often treat laser vision correction as elective and can limit or deny coverage, and that some vision plans offer discounts, which it puts at typically 15 to 20 percent and up to 50 percent in network. (Refractive Surgery Council (an industry group): does insurance cover LASIK?, published February 11, 2026.)
- The Refractive Surgery Council, an industry group, says health plans often treat laser vision correction as elective and can limit or deny coverage, and that some vision plans offer discounts, which it puts at typically 15 to 20 percent and up to 50 percent in network.Source: Refractive Surgery Council (an industry group): does insurance cover LASIK? (opens in a new tab), published February 11, 2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
- The American Academy of Ophthalmology says ICL surgery typically costs about twice as much as LASIK and more than PRK or SMILE, and that these procedures are elective and not covered by insurance.Source: American Academy of Ophthalmology: implantable collamer lens (ICL) (opens in a new tab), published Jul. 31, 2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
Can it be paid for from an FSA or an HSA?
IRS Publication 502 lists eye surgery to treat defective vision, naming laser eye surgery, among the medical expenses that can be included. (IRS Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses, Publication 502 (2025), for 2025 returns.)
- IRS Publication 502 lists eye surgery to treat defective vision, naming laser eye surgery, among the medical expenses that can be included.Source: IRS Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses (opens in a new tab), Publication 502 (2025), for 2025 returns. Checked October 11, 2026.
- IRS Publication 969 says distributions from a health savings account and reimbursements from a health flexible spending arrangement are tax-free when used for qualified medical expenses.Source: IRS Publication 969, Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans (opens in a new tab), Publication 969 (2025), for 2025 returns. Checked October 11, 2026.
- Publication 969 defines qualified medical expenses for a health FSA as those that would generally qualify for the medical expense deduction, and for an HSA points to medical care under Internal Revenue Code section 213(d). Neither IRS publication says in so many words that LASIK is eligible, and a plan can set its own list.Source: IRS Publication 969, Health Savings Accounts and Other Tax-Favored Health Plans (opens in a new tab), Publication 969 (2025), for 2025 returns. Checked October 11, 2026.
What FDA’s record says
FDA approved the EVO/EVO+ Visian Implantable Collamer Lens, made by STAAR Surgical, on March 25, 2022, including a version for astigmatism. (FDA premarket approval record P030016 S035 (EVO/EVO+ Visian Implantable Collamer Lens), decision date 03/25/2022.)
- FDA approved the EVO/EVO+ Visian Implantable Collamer Lens, made by STAAR Surgical, on March 25, 2022, including a version for astigmatism.Source: FDA premarket approval record P030016 S035 (EVO/EVO+ Visian Implantable Collamer Lens) (opens in a new tab), decision date 03/25/2022. Checked October 11, 2026.
- The American Academy of Ophthalmology says the EVO lens is the only FDA-approved ICL option in the United States.Source: American Academy of Ophthalmology: implantable collamer lens (ICL) (opens in a new tab), published Jul. 31, 2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
- The American Academy of Ophthalmology says ICL surgery typically costs about twice as much as LASIK and more than PRK or SMILE, and that these procedures are elective and not covered by insurance.Source: American Academy of Ophthalmology: implantable collamer lens (ICL) (opens in a new tab), published Jul. 31, 2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
Questions to ask a center about its price
8 questions, each about something the published prices differ on.
- Is this price per eye, or for both eyes?
- Is it a fixed price, or a starting price that depends on my prescription?
- Which laser or technology level is this price for, and what does the next level cost?
- Is the pre-operative exam charged separately, and is it credited to the procedure?
- How long are follow-up visits covered, and who provides them?
- How long is an enhancement covered, and what would one cost after that?
- Are the eye drops and medications in the price?
- Is this the paid-in-full price, and is the financed price different?
- FDA’s LASIK checklist has cost as a line of its own, and lists asking who will provide the care before and after surgery among its questions for a doctor.Source: FDA: LASIK surgery checklist (opens in a new tab), content current as of 07/11/2018. Checked October 11, 2026.
- The American Academy of Ophthalmology’s list of questions to ask includes what LASIK costs and what related treatment would cost, naming treatment of minor side effects and retreatment.Source: American Academy of Ophthalmology: questions to ask when considering LASIK (opens in a new tab), published Apr. 29, 2023. Checked October 11, 2026.
- The Refractive Surgery Council, an industry group, advises getting a written, itemized estimate and asking about enhancement fees.Source: Refractive Surgery Council (an industry group): cost of LASIK (opens in a new tab), published June 4, 2026. Checked October 11, 2026.
Questions people ask about ICL cost
6 questions, each answered from the prices on this page.
- How much does ICL cost per eye?
- ICL typically costs $3,900 to $4,900 per eye. That is an estimate from 9 centers’ fixed published prices in 8 states, each restated at the national price level. Ranges, “starting at” figures, prices with a condition and national chains are left out of it, and are shown on this page. Every published price
- Is the ICL price per eye or for both eyes?
- Of the 22 published prices on this page, 20 are quoted per eye and 2 for both eyes together. A both-eyes price is shown as its page prints it, with half of it beside it as arithmetic; it is never counted as a per-eye price. The unit beside each price
- Why is ICL advertised from $3,500 an eye?
- The lowest starting figure on this page is $3,500 per eye, from Alliance Vision Institute. What is recorded from its page: Final cost set at the free consultation from prescription, anatomy and technology used. The standing fixed prices here run from $3,000 to $7,013 per eye. Every starting price and its conditions
- Is the consultation free, and is the exam part of the price?
- Of the 22 published prices here, 8 say the consultation is free or included and 11 say the pre-operative exam is in the price; 0 say the exam is charged separately. 6 centers publish a separate exam fee, $100 to $500. A page that does not mention the exam is counted as not stated, never as included. Exam fees
- Are enhancements included in the price?
- 3 of the 22 published prices here say an enhancement is included, 4 say it is included in part or on a condition, and 0 say it costs extra; 15 do not say. Where a page states how long, the periods are: 1 year (4). Enhancement policies
- How does ICL compare with the other procedures in cost?
- Per eye, from the prices we have checked: LASIK $2,000 – $2,700 typical; PRK $2,000 – $2,600 typical; SMILE $2,400 – $3,000 typical; Refractive lens exchange $6,000 – $8,270 in published fixed prices. These are prices, not a comparison of the procedures: which one is suitable for an eye is a clinical question. The procedures side by side
Not medical advice. This page is about what things cost. Prices change: the newest here was seen on its source page on October 11, 2026.
What that means, and how we check prices
Not medical advice
This page is about what things cost. It does not say what anyone should take or have done; that is a decision for you and a licensed clinician. Statements from labels and agencies are quoted from the sources linked beside them and have not been clinically reviewed.
Prices change
Every price here is a published price as it was seen on its source page — the newest on October 11, 2026. Sellers change prices and end offers; the seller’s page is the authority.
How we check prices
Each price is read from the seller’s own page and checked against its source before it appears, with the unit it is quoted in and the conditions printed beside it. Published prices are re-checked monthly. How we estimate · How this site works