Skip to content

Eye surgery · cost per eye

SMILE cost per eye

Laser surgery that removes a small lens-shaped piece of cornea through a tiny incision to correct nearsightedness.

General information, not medical advice. Last reviewed: pending clinical review.

Centers publish this price as a fixed figure, a range, or a “starting at” price that holds only for some eyes. This page keeps the three apart, each with its unit.

Typical price

Estimate

$2,400 – $3,000per eye, from fixed published prices

Estimate from 6 centers’ fixed published prices in 5 states, each restated at the national price level. Ranges, “starting at” figures, prices with a condition and national chains are left out of it and shown below. Not a quote. How we estimate

Checked against their sources

Fixed SMILE prices, center by center

7 fixed prices from 7 centers, A to Z, the newest seen October 11, 2026. Each line gives its unit and the technology level its page names. A both-eyes price is shown as printed, with half of it beside it, and is never counted as a per-eye price.

  • California Center for Refractive Surgery (CCRS)Los Angeles, CA$2,000 per eye$4,000 for both eyes

    Los Angeles, CA

    $2,000 per eye

    Conditions: $4,000 for both eyes. Third column of the table.

    Includes: All-inclusive: medications, pre-operative and post-operative care, and enhancement.

    ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    ccrsclearvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Envue Eye & Laser CenterOxon Hill, MD$2,500 per eye · SMILE ProOne-time-payment price

    Oxon Hill, MD

    $2,500 per eyeSMILE Pro

    Conditions: One-time-payment price; page says LASIK, SMILE and PRK are priced the same.

    envueeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    envueeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • LASIK ExpertsLawrenceville, NJ$2,999 per eye

    Lawrenceville, NJ

    $2,999 per eye

    Includes: Pre-operative consultation, the procedure, post-operative visits for up to 3 months, and enhancements if medically necessary.

    Does not include: Optional Vision Enhancement Plan for future enhancements costs extra.

    lasikexperts.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    lasikexperts.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Lucent VisionLong Beach, CA$5,000 for both eyes (÷ 2 = $2,500 an eye)

    Long Beach, CA

    $5,000 for both eyes

    Includes: The laser procedure, medicated post-operative eye drops, and post-operative care and enhancements within the first 12 months; free consultation with corneal imaging.

    lucentvision2020.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    lucentvision2020.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • SuraVisionHouston, TX$2,800 per eyePage says no upsells or added costs for astigmatism, high prescriptions, upgrades or eye medications

    Houston, TX

    $2,800 per eye

    Conditions: Page says no upsells or added costs for astigmatism, high prescriptions, upgrades or eye medications; $5,600 for both eyes.

    Includes: Eye medications and a personalized diagnostic evaluation at the consultation.

    suravision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    suravision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • UCLA Health Laser Refractive CenterLos Angeles, CA$3,500 per eyeFaculty-surgeon price

    Los Angeles, CA

    $3,500 per eye

    Conditions: Faculty-surgeon price. $500 non-refundable deposit taken at the pre-operative exam and credited to the surgery. 10% discount for active UCLA faculty, staff and students. Trainee-performed option listed separately.

    Includes: One full year of follow-up care and one enhancement if needed; free screening consultation; page says prices are final with no technology upcharges (LASIK flap made with a femtosecond laser).

    uclahealth.org (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    uclahealth.org (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Waite VisionLehi, UT$2,950 per eyeNo extra charges for astigmatism, high prescriptions, enhancements or eye medications

    Lehi, UT

    $2,950 per eye

    Conditions: No extra charges for astigmatism, high prescriptions, enhancements or eye medications; $5900 for both eyes. The $150 consultation fee is applied toward the procedure.

    Includes: Described as all-inclusive: enhancements and eye medications (recovery medications are supplied at the office).

    waitevision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    waitevision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

What’s included

What the price includes

Counted across the 7 published prices on this page. “Not stated” is never read as included.

Of 7 published prices, how many say each item is included, not included, included in part, or do not say.
WhatWhat the prices say
Pre-operative exam and measurements
  • 3 included
  • 4 not stated

Separate exam fees published: $100 to $500, at 6 centers.

Follow-up visits after surgery
  • 4 included
  • 3 not stated

Stated periods: 3 months (1), 1 year (2). 1 state none.

Enhancement (re-treatment)
  • 4 included
  • 1 in part, or on a condition
  • 2 not stated

Stated periods: 1 year (1). 4 state none.

Eye drops and medications
  • 4 included
  • 3 not stated
Consultation
  • 4 included
  • 3 not stated

Is the exam charged separately?

6 centers publish a separate exam fee: $100 to $500. Of the 7 prices on this page, 3 say the exam is in the price and 0 say it is charged apart.
  • Cumberland EyeCrossville, TN$100 per visitCharged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price

    Crossville, TN

    $100 per visit

    Conditions: Charged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price; whether it is per patient or per eye is not stated.

    Includes: All testing and post-operative care.

    cumberlandeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    cumberlandeye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • LasikATL (Diamond Vision)Hapeville, GA$250 per visitCharged at the pre-operative measurement visit and credited toward the procedure cost if the patient proceeds

    Hapeville, GA

    $250 per visit

    Conditions: Charged at the pre-operative measurement visit and credited toward the procedure cost if the patient proceeds; the initial consultation is free.

    Includes: Pre-operative measurements.

    lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Southwest Eye InstituteLas Vegas, NV$200 per visitApplied as a credit toward the procedure if the patient goes ahead

    Las Vegas, NV

    $200 per visit

    Conditions: Applied as a credit toward the procedure if the patient goes ahead; if a medical diagnosis is present the visit may be billed to insurance.

    Includes: The LASIK or vision correction consultation.

    sweyeinstitute.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    sweyeinstitute.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • St. Michael's Eye & Laser InstituteLargo, FL$500 per visitCharged after the free consultation and before surgery

    Largo, FL

    $500 per visit

    Conditions: Charged after the free consultation and before surgery; refunded if the workup shows the patient is not a candidate.

    Includes: Detailed testing that confirms candidacy and plans the treatment.

    stmichaelseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    stmichaelseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • The Eye Clinic of TexasLeague City, TX$250 per visitCharged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price

    League City, TX

    $250 per visit

    Conditions: Charged in addition to the per-eye LASIK price; collected on the day of the exam.

    Includes: The pre-op exam and measurements.

    ecot.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    ecot.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • Waite VisionLehi, UT$150 per visitPaid consultation

    Lehi, UT

    $150 per visit

    Conditions: Paid consultation; the fee goes toward the vision-correction procedure.

    Includes: A two-hour comprehensive exam.

    waitevision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    waitevision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

Enhancement and follow-up policies: how long, and at what fee

4 of the 7 prices here say an enhancement is included, 1 in part or on a condition, and 0 say it costs extra. Stated periods: 1 year (1). Plans sold separately: $200 to $1,000.

Follow-up visits, among the 4 prices that include them: 3 months (1), 1 year (2). 1 state no period. Enhancements, among the 5 that include one in full or in part: 1 year (1). 4 state no period.

Enhancement plans sold separately

A plan that pays for later enhancements, bought beside the procedure. Each as its page prints it.

  • Diamond VisionNew York, NY$550 once · 5 years$750 once · 7 years$1,000 once · LifetimeOptional add-on

    New York, NY

    $550 once5 years

    Conditions: Optional add-on; must be purchased before or within one week of surgery.

    Includes: Post-operative warranty covering enhancements for the stated term (terms not detailed on the page).

    diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $750 once7 years

    Conditions: Optional add-on; must be purchased before or within one week of surgery.

    Includes: Post-operative warranty covering enhancements for the stated term (terms not detailed on the page).

    diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $1,000 onceLifetime

    Conditions: Optional add-on; must be purchased before or within one week of surgery.

    Includes: Post-operative warranty covering enhancements for the stated term (terms not detailed on the page).

    diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    diamondvision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • LasikATL (Diamond Vision)Hapeville, GA$550 once · 5 years$750 once · 7 years$1,000 once · LifetimeOptional

    Hapeville, GA

    $550 once5 years

    Conditions: Optional; must be bought before or within one week of surgery. Page says the plans carry no conditions, restrictions or eligibility criteria. Per eye or per patient not stated.

    Includes: Enhancement cover for five years after surgery (the page's warranty statement gives the terms).

    lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $750 once7 years

    Conditions: Optional; must be bought before or within one week of surgery. Per eye or per patient not stated.

    Includes: Enhancement cover for seven years after surgery.

    lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

    $1,000 onceLifetime

    Conditions: Optional; must be bought before or within one week of surgery. Per eye or per patient not stated.

    Includes: Enhancement cover for life.

    lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    lasikatl.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • SharpeVision Modern LASIK & LensAustin, TX$200 once · Lifetime · charged for each eyeOptional add-on to LASIK, PRK or EVO ICL

    Austin, TX

    $200 onceLifetime

    Charged for each eye

    Conditions: Optional add-on to LASIK, PRK or EVO ICL; $400 for both eyes. Already included with RLE.

    Includes: The full cost of any laser enhancement from one year after surgery for life (the first year is in the procedure price); page says there are no restrictions or requirements.

    sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    sharpe-vision.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
  • West Texas Eye AssociatesLubbock, TX$275 once · Lifetime · charged for each eyeOptional

    Lubbock, TX

    $275 onceLifetime

    Charged for each eye

    Conditions: Optional; one-time enrollment fee, $550 for both eyes; must be bought before the original LASIK or PRK procedure; eligibility requirements apply (including remaining in good eye health).

    Includes: Coverage for eligible prescription changes related to the original LASIK or PRK procedure.

    Does not include: Medications, glasses or contacts.

    westtexaseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026
    westtexaseye.com (opens in a new tab)seen Oct 11, 2026

Does insurance cover SMILE?

The Refractive Surgery Council, an industry group, says health plans often treat laser vision correction as elective and can limit or deny coverage, and that some vision plans offer discounts, which it puts at typically 15 to 20 percent and up to 50 percent in network. (Refractive Surgery Council (an industry group): does insurance cover LASIK?, published February 11, 2026.)

Can it be paid for from an FSA or an HSA?

IRS Publication 502 lists eye surgery to treat defective vision, naming laser eye surgery, among the medical expenses that can be included. (IRS Publication 502, Medical and Dental Expenses, Publication 502 (2025), for 2025 returns.)

What FDA’s record says

FDA approved the VisuMax femtosecond laser for small incision lenticule extraction (SMILE) on September 13, 2016, to reduce or eliminate nearsightedness. (FDA premarket approval record P150040 (VisuMax femtosecond laser), decision date 09/13/2016.)

Questions to ask a center about its price

8 questions, each about something the published prices differ on.
  1. Is this price per eye, or for both eyes?
  2. Is it a fixed price, or a starting price that depends on my prescription?
  3. Which laser or technology level is this price for, and what does the next level cost?
  4. Is the pre-operative exam charged separately, and is it credited to the procedure?
  5. How long are follow-up visits covered, and who provides them?
  6. How long is an enhancement covered, and what would one cost after that?
  7. Are the eye drops and medications in the price?
  8. Is this the paid-in-full price, and is the financed price different?

Questions people ask about SMILE cost

5 questions, each answered from the prices on this page.
How much does SMILE cost per eye?
SMILE typically costs $2,400 to $3,000 per eye. That is an estimate from 6 centers’ fixed published prices in 5 states, each restated at the national price level. Ranges, “starting at” figures, prices with a condition and national chains are left out of it, and are shown on this page. Every published price
Is the SMILE price per eye or for both eyes?
Of the 7 published prices on this page, 6 are quoted per eye and 1 for both eyes together. A both-eyes price is shown as its page prints it, with half of it beside it as arithmetic; it is never counted as a per-eye price. The unit beside each price
Is the consultation free, and is the exam part of the price?
Of the 7 published prices here, 4 say the consultation is free or included and 3 say the pre-operative exam is in the price; 0 say the exam is charged separately. 6 centers publish a separate exam fee, $100 to $500. A page that does not mention the exam is counted as not stated, never as included. Exam fees
Are enhancements included in the price?
4 of the 7 published prices here say an enhancement is included, 1 say it is included in part or on a condition, and 0 say it costs extra; 2 do not say. Where a page states how long, the periods are: 1 year (1). Enhancement policies
How does SMILE compare with the other procedures in cost?
Per eye, from the prices we have checked: LASIK $2,000 – $2,700 typical; PRK $2,000 – $2,600 typical; ICL $3,900 – $4,900 typical; Refractive lens exchange $6,000 – $8,270 in published fixed prices. These are prices, not a comparison of the procedures: which one is suitable for an eye is a clinical question. The procedures side by side

Not medical advice. This page is about what things cost. Prices change: the newest here was seen on its source page on October 11, 2026.

What that means, and how we check prices

Not medical advice

This page is about what things cost. It does not say what anyone should take or have done; that is a decision for you and a licensed clinician. Statements from labels and agencies are quoted from the sources linked beside them and have not been clinically reviewed.

Prices change

Every price here is a published price as it was seen on its source page — the newest on October 11, 2026. Sellers change prices and end offers; the seller’s page is the authority.

How we check prices

Each price is read from the seller’s own page and checked against its source before it appears, with the unit it is quoted in and the conditions printed beside it. Published prices are re-checked monthly. How we estimate · How this site works